Friday, January 15, 2010

Glasses for Carolina






Well it was time. . .last March when I took Carolina to the eye doctor I was told that she would eventually need glasses. He told me that she was a +3 in both eye's. I was told to bring her back in as soon as she started showing any signs of straining or crossing. We made it till about a week ago with nothing. Then Carolina started saying her eyes/head hurt. Several times she also said she couldn't see very well. I let it go a couple of days thinking it could be sinus related as Anthony and I had a cold but as it continued I knew that was not the case. So Monday morning I woke up and Called our Children's Optometrist. They had to dilate her eyes so it took a little longer to get out of the office and since I took all three children with me I felt every minute of it . . .even though they were actually quite well behaved thank goodness! So Carolina's eye's only changed a small amount they are now +3.5. Thankfully she does not have an astigmatism like her sister and her lenses are only about 1/2 as strong. Carolina is adjusting quite nicely. We are just working on being responsible for her glasses and not laying them around. Carolina actually has a few times taken them off and left them on the floor or bed. Caylea never did that and I think it is because she could see so much better with them she wanted them on. In fact I have to take Caylea's off of her every night after she falls asleep because she does not want them off until she is sleeping then of course the first thing she does in the morning is put them back on.

The Doctor also checked out Cadens eye's and said he did not need to see him again for a few years so he is good to go . . .Thankfully! LOL

1 comment:

Terri said...

I have astigmatism to and it stinks. However, they told me my eyes would never improve and I would never be able to wear contacts and both statements were wrong!! Now I see well enough that I don't wear either, although, I should. ;)